Enchanting streets of Hanoi

Vietnam is beautiful. The people are so kind, so welcoming to these strangers wandering – like lost children attempting to find their parents – searching around street corners anticipating the next couple of yards of mesmerising chaos. The car and bike horns are deafening as I dance inbetween the cars to squeeze through the chaotic traffic. The path ahead of me is constantly clouded with the charming gift of the unfamiliar.

Shops, like the streets, are crowded with items – exciting tourists’ vision with an array of colours and patterns. Unable to walk past, I am drawn into each shop to sift happily through the many items; hippy pants, patchwork fleeces, bags, bowls laden with engravings and intricate detail, the list goes on…

Day one in Hanoi, Vietnam and already I confess my love for this country. It has an enchanting charm I can’t quite put my finger on…and in the next thirty days I have no doubt I will be overwhelmed by its elegance and beauty numerous more times.

 

Do not ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive. – Howard Thurman

Be weird. Be wonderful.:)

Leave a Reply

